A Father’s Prayer

Make me the father, O Lord, who will show my children the strength to face weakness; the courage to face fear; the grace to accept honest defeat; and the humility and gentleness to accept victory.

Make me the father who will show my children not a path of ease and comfort, but the ability to accept the challenges of stress and difficulty. Use me, I pray, to be the example of one who can stand up in the storm, and there learn compassion for those who fail.

Make me the father who will teach his children the value of a clear heart and a high goal; to look in the mirror of their own faults before they find fault in others; to learn to laugh, yet never forget how to cry; to reach into the future without ever forgetting the past.

Make me the father, O Lord, who will show my children enough sense of humour, so they will always be serious but never take themselves too seriously. Give my children humility, so they will always remember the simplicity of true greatness, the open mind of true wisdom, the meekness of true strength.

After all these things are theirs, add for me, I pray, the wisdom to show them the dubious value of titles, positions, money and material gain; and the eternal value of prayer, the Word of God, a godly Christian home, and a saving relationship with Your Son Jesus Christ.

And lastly Lord, make me the husband who loves my wife, just as Christ loved the Church and gave himself up for her. Make me a loving, gentle, supportive and faithful husband You called me to be, so that my dearly beloved wife whom you have given me to love and cherish, to have and to hold, to guide and to guard, that she may be the hey child, wife and mother that You have called her to be. In so doing, o Lord, may we as parents model Christ, model love and model the godly Christian family to the children you have blessed us with and entrusted to us for our love, care, guidance, protection and stewardship.

Then I, their father, will dare to whisper, “I have not lived in vain.”

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Adapted from published prayers of Thom Rainer and General Douglas MacArthur.

For updates, reviews and more, like me at Finally Mama on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

